16 Bands You Need To Check Out In 2016

I’m sure that you’ve listened to the same bands on repeat for awhile now. Thinking of downloading some new music? You’ve come to the right place. Here are 16 bands that you should check out in 2016.

  1. Microwave- They just opened for The Wonder Years last month. Microwave is post-hardcore band from Atlanta, Georgia. They’ve been around since 2012. I saw them open for Have Mercy at Amityville Music Hall on October 17, 2015. I got a selfie with Nathan Hardy. IMG_0594                                            Check out the song “Thinking Of You.”
  2. Broadside- They’re equally as good life as they are are on a CD. I saw Broadside perform for State Champs at the Holiday show at Revolution Bar in Amityville on December 19, 2015. The show was sold out, and the crowd came alive once Broadside got on stage. Broadside brings an awesome energy to the stage, and they’ll be at Warped Tour this summer. Be sure to check them out this summer and listen to the song “Human Machines” and “Damaged Kids.”
  3. Movements- Movements is an emo band from Rancho Santa Margarita, CA. I saw them perform at Real Friends $5 Tour at the NYWC Sportatorium. The lead singer, Patrick Miranda, was so grateful to have gone on tour with Real Friends. Repeatedly saying thank you after each song and ending their set saying something along the lines of having the fans not look so bored and that Real Friends will be going on next. “If you liked what you were hearing, check out our merch table and pick up a copy of our EP ‘Outgrown Things’ or even listen to it for free on Spotify or something.” Patrick said something along the lines of if you’re at least listening to them, they’re happy you’re another fan. I don’t remember his exact words, but I remember thinking that this band was very much humbled. Check out the song “Nineteen
  4. Vacationer- Vacationer is a definitely a feel-good band. Vacationer is from Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. I heard Vacationer on Parahoy this year. I attended every set they had on Parahoy. Everyone in the band is super sweet, and they’re all about spreading positive vibes around. Check out their song “Good As New
  5. mewithoutYou- If you’re interesting in a different sounding group, I highly recommend mewithoutYou. They’re a rock band from Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. The first time I ever heard mewithoutYou live was in 2014 on Parahoy. Their performance on the boat made me very interested in their music. Plus, Hayley Williams, lead vocalist of Paramore, is featured on a song of theirs. MewithoutYou is a pleasure to see live. I had the honor of meeting Ricky, the drummer of mewithoutYou, on the Parahoy cruise this past March.mewithoutyouCheck out one of my favorite songs by them, “In A Sweater Poorly Knit.”
  6. Knuckle Puck- This pop-punk band from Chicago, Illinois is nothing short of amazing. I’ve seen Knuckle Puck perform with The Maine last May, Vans Warped Tour last summer, and again with State Champs, Neck Deep and Like Pacific on the AP World Tour. They will be at Vans Warped Tour this year. Their latest album Copacetic is a fantastic album. I really liked the song “Pretense” by Knuckle Puck because it’s complex and has a lot going on percussion wise. Definitely check this band out and see them perform at Warped Tour this summer!
  7. This Wild Life- I’m sure you’ve been to Warped Tour the past few years, and This Wild Life has attended Vans Warped Tour on August 10, 2011 and again on June 21, 2012. In 2014 and 2015, This Wild Life was playing at Warped Tour all summer long. I met both Kevin Jordan and Anthony DelGrosso This Wild Life in 2014 at Warped Tour
    This Wild Life
    and talked with Kevin after the AP Tour in October of 2015.
    IMG_0913.jpg
    This Wild Life is an acoustic pop-punk duo from Long Beach, California. They’re releasing a new EP this year and Aaron Marsh, lead vocals of Copeland, has been involved in the process and recording of Clouded and their latest EP (which the date is to be announced.) Check out their song “No More Bad Days.”
  8. Divided By Friday- Now, I know that they’re on an indefinite hiatus at the moment, but Jose Villanueva, lead vocalist, has an amazing voice. His voice is low and quite angelic. His vocals has a great range. Unfortunately, I have not had the privilege to hear Divided By Friday live, but be sure to check out the song “Relapse
  9. Young English- Young English is a punk band from Orange County, NY. I saw them when I saw Transit perform once last time. I enjoyed the unique rasp of the lead vocalist, especially in “Woke Up Underwater
  10. Pentimento- This punk band from Buffalo, NY is up and coming. I have yet to have the privilege to see Pentimento live, but their set at Audiotree on November 9, 2012 shows off the talent of the group. Check out the song “Just Friends.”
  11. The Flats- The Ohio based rock group has their CD on Band Camp. Liberation & The House In Blue was recorded at home and released in 2014. I saw them open for Have Mercy, and the guys from the band were friendly, talkative and great guys. Check out the song “Fight and Flights
  12. Major League- I know that Major League broke up this year, but they didn’t get recognition for how great of a band they were. Major League is from Mantua Township, NJ and formed in 2009. Brian Joyce stepped up as vocalist from Nick Trask departure. Major League released their last album There’s Nothing Wrong With Me in November of 2014. Major League performed at Audiotree. Major League always put on an amazing show, and seeing them perform one last time at Amityville Music Hall on March 25, 2016, was super emotional. I wish all the guys nothing, but the best in their future endeavors. “Rittenhouse” displays the amazing power ballad the band released.
  13. PVRIS- If you guys haven’t checked out PVRIS, you need to. Lynn Gunn’s vocals are impeccable, and Alex Babinski and Brian MacDonald are super talented. PVRIS is from Boston, Massachusetts and taking the world by storm. I’ve seen PVRIS in fall of 2014 touring with Mayday Parade, at Warped Tour in 2015, and I’m going to their US tour. They’re currently on the “North American Tour 2016” that started May 11th. 10 of their shows on the tour are sold out. Check out the song “Holy” and White Noise.
  14. The Radiance Effect- The Radiance Effect is a rock group from Springfield, MO. I don’t quite remember how I stumbled upon them, but The Radiance Effect is a really good band. I have not seen them live. Check out the song “Hello Beautiful.”
  15. Stages and Stereos- Even though Dan Lancaster is the younger brother of Jason Lancaster of Go Radio and Mayday Parade, Dan doesn’t want his fame to be from his brother. Formed in 2007, the Tallahassee based band has been on several tours. I saw Stages and Stereos open for Mayday Parade in 2013 on the Glamour Kills Tour. Dan is a sweetheart, and their music is really catchy. Listen to “Coupe De Grace.”
    Dan Lancaster
  16. With Confidence- With Confidence is from Sydney, Australia, and they’re up and coming in the pop-punk music scene. I have yet to see them live, but I really like their song “Keeper” because it shows off Jayden Seeley’s unique voice.

Well…what are you waiting for?

 

Rock on, stay humble, and be positive!

-ovictoria

2 Comments

  1. I love posts like these! I have a list of bands on my phone that I will never have time to listen to all of them but a girl can dream, right? Right now I write reviews for albums on my blog but I’m working on expanding to music recommendations now. I’d love if you gave my blog a look!

    Like

Leave a Reply

