Concert Review: This Wild Life in NYC

On Tuesday Oct. 4, I attended the Studio at Webster Hall in New York City to see This Wild Life perform. Prior to this show, I’ve seen This Wild Life play at Warped Tour in 2014 and 2015 and saw This Wild Life open for Mayday Parade on the AP Tour in Fall of 2015. I was super excited to see them again after a year break from them.

Movements and Have Mercy opened up for This Wild Life. I saw Movements open for Real Friends this year, and the guys are so genuine and passionate about their music. The crowd went crazy for Movements and Have Mercy with crowdsurfing and singing along to their lyrics. Have Mercy announced that AJ Perdomo (ex-The Dangerous Summer singer) was at the venue. I was in shock that I got the chance to share a room with a guy who got me into the music that I listen to. Of course, they’re definitely other bands that got me into this genre, but The Dangerous Summer is one band I wish I got to see live.

Both Movements and Have Mercy had a great set. After Movements and Have Mercy performed their sets, This Wild Life took the stage opening with “Pull Me Out.” Here is This Wild Life’s setlist:

  1. Pull Me Out
  2. Over It
  3. Ripped Away
  4. Pink Tie
  5. Breakdown
  6. No More Bad Days
  7. Just Yesterday
  8. Hit The Reset
  9. History
  10. Brick Wall
  11. Concrete**
  12. Falling Down**

**Encore Songs.

The energy of the small venue was vivacious and harmonious. This Wild Life picked a great set to demonstrate the growth they had as a band. I loved getting to hear “Pink Tie” live and “Just Yesterday.” Even though Pierce The Veil, Neck Deep and I Prevail were in the city the same night, it was awesome to see how packed the Studio at Webster Hall was.

My photo taken during “Pull Me Out.”

It was outstanding seeing This Wild Life headline their own tour for the first time. I saw This Wild Life perform with about 50-100 people the first time at Warped Tour and to see the band evolve and grow as big as they’re getting is something I’m proud to be apart of. If you haven’t already, check out This Wild Life’s album Low Tides that features the songs “Falling Down” and “Pull Me Out.” If This Wild Life hasn’t stopped at your local venue, definitely take the trip to see them live.

In other news Green Day’s Revolution Radio, Sum 41’s album 13 Voices, The Devil Wears Prada’s album Transit Blues, and Set It Off’s album Upside Down released today, October 7th. Yellowcard embarked on their final world tour this week. What a great day in music!

Rock on, stay humble, and be positive!

-ovictoria

*Follow me on twitter @ovictoriax31 and @ovictoriamedia

Band Merch: I bought a Movements dad hat and This Wild Life baseball tee-shirt.

Next week, I’ll be posting a blog post about my experience at Like Pacific, Broadside, Rarity and Boston Manor on Saturday.

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

