Festival Review: Vans Warped Tour 2018

I attended the Vans Warped Tour in Holmdel, New Jersey on July 14, 2018. The date was sold out and 18,000 people were attending.

img_5106

Before heading out to Warped Tour, it was important I packed accordingly. I packed a fan, portable phone chargers, a hat, sunscreen, a sweater, sharpie, and water in my back pack. Check out my What To Pack For Warped Tour to see what you can/ can’t bring.

For me, early entry is a MUST. A lot of tents have free giveaways when you get to the tents early. When I was at Warped Tour, I got in the venue early, ran over to Grayscale’s merch tent and picked up the limited Grayscale draw string bag that is limited to 30 each day.

img_5218

I got the chance to meet Dan Lambton of Real Friends before Real Friends’ set at the Real Friends merch tent.

img_5101

I waited on line to meet John O’ Callaghan, vocalist of The Maine. We talked about Lovely, Little, Lonely, his side work as John The Ghost, and the future of The Maine. Also, he signed my ticket for Warped Tour.

img_5215

I met Kevin Jordan and Anthony DelGrosso, members of This Wild Life, after the duo’s set. The duo released Petaluma on June 22, 2018 (for more information on the album click here.)

img_5210

After Grayscale’s set, I met Collin Walsh, vocalist of Grayscale. He went directly off the stage and straight towards the merch tent to sign CDs and take photos with fans.

img_5164

Throughout the day, I got the chance to see a variety of bands. The great thing about the schedule I went to is that I had about 2 conflicts but was able to split my time and see both group’s set. The bands I saw were: Story Untold, Real Friends, Senses Fail, As It Is, Grayscale, Broadside, Mayday Parade, State Champs, Knuckle Puck, This Wild Life, The Maine, and Movements. I heard band’s sets like Tonight Alive, Reel Big Fish, Makeout, and Simple Plan during my day.

During The Maine and State Champs’ set, there were instances that the group’s stopped the set and medics/ security stepped in. Unfortunately, I was unable to see what the reason was but it was in the 80s and sunny. It’s important to stay hydrated and be safe at Warped Tour. In addition, security had to break up two people during Grayscale’s set.

Vans Warped Tour is unlike any day concert experience. It’s both exhausting and exhilarating. If you like the lineup for this years Vans Warped Tour, I highly recommend you go. As a fan, it’s wonderful you’re in one area getting to see bands you may not always get to see. In addition to seeing bands, you get the chance to meet those artists after the sets or before the sets. Each band has specific locations for meet and greets and signings, so visit the group’s merch tent to see when the group or artist has those times.

I will be going to the Vans Warped Tour in Wantagh, NY and will blog my experience in two weeks. I hope you found this blog to be helpful.

Are you heading to Warped Tour? Make sure to Prepare Yourself For Vans Warped Tour!

Rock on, stay humble, and be positive!

-ovictoria

*Follow me on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram @ovictoriamedia for updates on concerts, albums, blogs, and more!

2 Comments

Leave a comment